Uberti Sharps

Trail Boss
PostsCOLON 25
JoinedCOLON Sat Mar 25, 2006 2:12 pm
LocationCOLON Pineville, LA

Uberti Sharps

Post by Trail Boss » Sat Mar 25, 2006 2:30 pm

I am new to BPCR. I have just purchased a Uberti 45-70 "Down Under" model. :D It should arrive in about two weeks. :( I'm chomp'in at the bit to break it in. I was just curious about anyones opinion of Uberti and their rifles. I am also wanting to use only black powder in the rifle after I break it in and wanted any info available about the goex factory loads. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Ray Newman
PostsCOLON 481
JoinedCOLON Sun Nov 20, 2005 6:37 pm
LocationCOLON Bewteen NoWhere & NoPlace, WA ST

Post by Ray Newman » Sat Mar 25, 2006 2:47 pm

IMHO, factory BP loads are expensive for what you get.

The .45-2.1" (AKA .45-70) is probably one of the better BPCR calibers to learn to reload w/ BP.

Do you reload & have any casting equipment &/or experience?

There really isn't a "break in" period w/ BP & lead bullets. If you shoot White/Nitro (AKA Smokeless) & Full Metal Patched (jacketed) bullets, you need to thoroughly clean the bore of all copper fouling. Otherwise the copper fouling will attract lead & the rifle will start to lead up.

Below links might be helpful:

http://www.ssbpcrc.co.uk/Resources/Intr ... oading.pdf

http://www.longrangebpcr.com/

http://www.shilohrifle.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=5350
The most important aspect of this signature line is that you don't realize it doesn't say anything significant until you are just about done reading it & then it is too late to stop reading it....
Grand Poo Bah
WA St F.E.S.

Trail Boss
PostsCOLON 25
JoinedCOLON Sat Mar 25, 2006 2:12 pm
LocationCOLON Pineville, LA

Post by Trail Boss » Sat Mar 25, 2006 3:22 pm