vertical stringing

Items of primary interest to the new BPCR shooter. Loading, BP SAFETY, sources of materials, rifles, etc.
wboggs
PostsCOLON 45
JoinedCOLON Mon Dec 18, 2006 9:18 am
LocationCOLON N.E. FL.

vertical stringing

Post by wboggs » Sat Feb 03, 2007 1:51 pm

I am new to back powder reloading and am having a problem with vertial stringing. Horizontal is less than minute angle but vertical opens to 2-4 minutes. Wonder what some of the basic causes could be?
Would appreciate any help. Thanks
beginner in black powder

montana_charlie
PostsCOLON 1413
JoinedCOLON Sun Nov 20, 2005 8:35 pm
LocationCOLON West of Great Falls, Montana

Re: vertical stringing

Post by montana_charlie » Sat Feb 03, 2007 3:40 pm

Wonder what some of the basic causes could be?
Basic causes?
- Variations in muzzle velocity - A lot of things can cause it, and 'consistency' in every loading step and every ammunition component is the cure.
A chronograph can help determine if you are suffering from this.

- Barrel bounce - Assuming you are shooting from a solid rest, placing the 'sweet spot' of the barrel on the front rest can reduce or eliminate it.

- Wind variations - Most noticeable at longer ranges, changing head and tail winds can seriously affect these big, slow-moving bullets...enough to make rather large changes in impact height.

- Barrel condition - Better lube, or enough lube may make the difference. Also, consistent blow tubing (or wiping between shots) might be the answer.

- Recoil control - It doesn't matter too much whether you choose to be a 'solid obstruction' that the butt pounds against, or a 'sponge' that gives when the rifle fires...just so long as you do it the same way each time.

- Sights (especially the front one) - How well does your choice of globe insert match the target you are using...over the range at which you are seeing it? If you are using a circular insert, one that is a bit large is better than one which is on the small side.