Newbie intro and plea for help

Items of primary interest to the new BPCR shooter. Loading, BP SAFETY, sources of materials, rifles, etc.
YosemiteSam
PostsCOLON 45
JoinedCOLON Wed Aug 08, 2012 7:49 am
LocationCOLON Near Yosemite, CA
CONTACTCOLON

Newbie intro and plea for help

Post by YosemiteSam » Thu Aug 09, 2012 3:05 pm

I am totally new to the big caliber cartridge rifle. I have 12 years experience plinking and hunting with flintlock rifles and smoothbores. And I was raised on .22s and 12 gauges in the foothills of California. No formal training. 40+ years ago, Pop showed me the basics and turned me loose! My shooting has been mostly hunting and informal offhand shooting, not at paper.

A few months ago, I sort of adopted a (made in 1985-ish) Shiloh Sharps 45/90. 30" barrel. Some kind of tang sight, a buckhorn/ladder rear barrel mounted sight and a globe front sight. It came with a handful of two different cast and lubed round nosed GG bullets (412gr and 520gr) RCBS dies, about 180 pieces of Starline and some Australian brand brass, a simple loading press, and one pre-loaded (smokeless) cartridge with the 520 gr bullet. oh yeah, and a handshake. The gun looks new inside and out. It is so cool--I love it.

I had a rocky start with this gun, (as I did just enough research to be dangerous) and loaded a few shells to try. I simply filled the case with FF Goex, tap settled it down about .375", fit a hand cut poster board card, a dab of muzzleloading beeswax/bear oil lube, a thin cut out of 24lb bond paper and I seated/compressed and lightly crimped the whole mess to cover the grease grooves in the case. The cartridge was 3" OAL. I shot both offhand and bench and as you can guess---I did not achieve any kind of groups at all. I was lucky to hit 8 x 10 paper. This was at 70 yards---I said to self--- "Self... This gun is suppose to get sub 2" groups at 100 yards---I am such a loser!"