bullet lube

Here's the place to share your questions, knowledge, and experience about the shooting techniques that could make us all better shooters. Safety must always be a consideration when using black powder in our rifles.
Mike Bateman
PostsCOLON 88
JoinedCOLON Fri Dec 29, 2006 6:13 am
LocationCOLON Canberra Australia

bullet lube

Post by Mike Bateman » Wed Jan 03, 2007 11:03 pm

This is my first time at this so please bear with me. I have seen mentioned a bullet lube called "White Lightning" is this available from dealers or a make it yourself formula ?.
I have a CPA Stevens 44 1/2 in 40/65 with a 1 1/8" oct barrel and providing I wipe it with two damp patches and one dry patch it shoots really well. I tried a blow tube but the accuracy went downhill in a big way. I am using SPG as a lube on a Hoch .409 bullet.

PowderFlask2
PostsCOLON 110
JoinedCOLON Sun Nov 20, 2005 7:25 pm
LocationCOLON Central IL

Post by PowderFlask2 » Thu Jan 04, 2007 6:54 am

Hey Mike

White Lightning was developed by Dan Theodore and has reportedly had very good success in long range matches in the western USA. It is available through Gentleman Jim Products and it you do a search on this or the Shiloh board you will find it.

That being said, SPG works great in my 40-65 and I used to blow tube, usually 4 long breaths were enough even in 90 degree weather (above that 5-6 breaths). I think you have other problems....try switching powders or make up some loads with some compression (or less if your already compressing etc.

Currently I am wiping one time with a damp patch with a 10% Ballistol 90% water mixture and the 40-65 with SPG lube is shooting very clean and better than I can hold it.

Keep trying, hang in there, but I would look to other things than the lube.

Gary

Mike Bateman
PostsCOLON 88

Post by Mike Bateman » Thu Jan 04, 2007 2:19 pm

Thanks Gary