where is bpcr headed?

This is the general discussion area for the forums at BPCR.net. Anyone who appreciates and enjoys the classic single shot rifles of the late 1800 period is welcome to take part here. Civility in all postings, and respect for your fellow shooters are the primary expectations of all members. Trolls will be removed from the membership without warning or recourse. The Forum owner has the final, and only, say in who is determined to be a troll. Please try to put your posts in the correct forum. (Example: loading tips and questions in the "Cartridge Loading..." forum.) Postings may be moved by the moderator to correct forums if he determines they can be better placed.
loophole
PostsCOLON 15
JoinedCOLON Wed Jan 14, 2009 3:09 pm
LocationCOLON Asheville, NC

where is bpcr headed?

Post by loophole » Thu Oct 30, 2014 1:19 pm

I've been building and shooting BPCR guns since about 1980, and before that muzzleloaders. For several reasons I got out of shooting for a few years, sold some of my guns, and let my subscription to BPCR News expire. Recently I unlimbered my rifles and started shooting them again. I realized I was down to only one 45/70, so I felt forced to buy a C. Sharps in order to feel properly armed.
I dusted off my computer connections to this site and was shocked to see how little activity there seems to be. I checked the
cast bullet and ASSRA sites, as well as the Shiloh site and talked to a few folks in the industry, but I have a serious question
for which I can't find a satisfactory answer:
Where is this sport headed?
I hear that Shiloh as a 2-year backlog and record numbers came to the Quigley last year, but bullet casters are going out of business
and the NRA is threatening to shut down the Nationals at Raton.
Are we attracting new shooters and keeping numbers up, or are we a dying breed?
I watched muzzle-loading die out, Are we headed in the same direction?
Loophole
If at first you don't secede, try, try again.

GeorgeC
PostsCOLON 9