Best 3 Bullet styles

This is the general discussion area for the forums at BPCR.net. Anyone who appreciates and enjoys the classic single shot rifles of the late 1800 period is welcome to take part here. Civility in all postings, and respect for your fellow shooters are the primary expectations of all members. Trolls will be removed from the membership without warning or recourse. The Forum owner has the final, and only, say in who is determined to be a troll. Please try to put your posts in the correct forum. (Example: loading tips and questions in the "Cartridge Loading..." forum.) Postings may be moved by the moderator to correct forums if he determines they can be better placed.
CIMMARONKID
PostsCOLON 12
JoinedCOLON Thu Dec 14, 2006 1:05 pm
LocationCOLON glendale, az

Best 3 Bullet styles

Post by CIMMARONKID » Tue Sep 04, 2007 9:58 pm

OK, be nice to me as I am just getting started in this sport and need some knowledgeable opinions expressed. I have two rifles, a Pedersoli 74 with 34" barrel and a Browning 1885 BPCR, both of which are in 45-70. Question is if you had to live with only 3 bullet styles to shoot everything from Silhouette to Creedmoor, what would you pick and who would you have cut the blocks? I know there are a lot of other variables, but elimate them and just tell me your 3 favorite molds.
"They couldn't hit an elephant at this distance" last words of Union General Sedgwick before a Confederate sniper killed him with a head shot.

Jim Milner
PostsCOLON 260
JoinedCOLON Sun Nov 27, 2005 12:43 am
LocationCOLON Pacific Nothwet

Post by Jim Milner » Tue Sep 04, 2007 10:20 pm

CimmaronKid,
At the risk of ruining my reputation, welcome aboard. Both rifles are great choices, and will serve you well with proper care.
I am presuming the calibre to be 45/70.