About barrels

Post your projects and questions here.

About barrels

Postby dedseven » Mon Oct 01, 2007 1:37 am

Greetings to all. I am a life-long firearms enthusiast who is just now developing an interest in BPCR shooting. I am also a machinist working in a gun shop handling the reboring and barrel making chores. I have lurked in these forums for a while in an attempt to lean something and now I want to ask a question or two. I want to put together a rifle to use in our local long range matches (steel targets out to about 1200 yards). I will be making my own barrel and I have a question about what rifling form is the best for BPCR use. We cut rifling using single point tooling which gives me the ability to alter the geometry of my bore fairly easily. I have read that some people believe a barrel with narrow lands and wide grooves is superior. I’ve also read that square cornered grooves are best avoided. So please let a beginner know what you think. Shallow grooves or deep? More or fewer grooves? Wide lands or narrow? We can’t cut gain twist rifling yet so that will have to wait but I would be eager to hear what you think about that too, and why. I’m sure there is a lot I can learn from your collective experience so please share it!

Allen
dedseven

Postby martinibelgian » Mon Oct 01, 2007 6:33 am

My opinion - and worth what you paid for it:
- Shallow rifling
- Wide grooves
- Rifling form? Nor real favourite, but I am rather partial to Metford segmental rifling (mine a Snover), even though my Eichelberger with traditional rifling works extremely well too.... And I would LOVE to experiment with Lancaster oval-bore rifling!
- smooth barrel, preferably lapped
- 34" for LR work

Just my opinion, and opinions.... you know what they say.
martinibelgian

Postby ssdave » Mon Oct 01, 2007 8:40 pm

I'm always ready to offer an opinion, for what it's worth.